Search This Blog

Friday, May 23, 2008

Fascinating Facts About Feasts of the Bible

Bible Verse of the Day
The LORD spoke again to Moses, saying, "Speak to the sons of Israel and say to them, 'The LORD's appointed times which you shall proclaim as holy convocations - My appointed times are these: For six days work may be done, but on the seventh day there is a sabbath of complete rest, a holy convocation. You shall not do any work; it is a sabbath to the LORD in all your dwellings.'"

Leviticus 23 - God's Redemptive Plan
Leviticus 23 is sometimes referred to as "God's calendar of redeeming grace" or the "calendar of divine redemption." These 44 verses basically tell of God's redemptive plan for the world He created. Three main lessons of the seven feasts are described are:

1) God's Protection
2) God's Provision
3) God's Promise

The holidays and Sabbath days are a "shadow of things to come." (Colossians 2:16,17)
pictures the death of Jesus, the perfect sacrifice. He died on Passover.

Unleavened Bread pictures the sinless Jesus, "the bread of life" from heaven.
Yom HaBikkurim (Firstfruits) foretold his resurrection on the third day.
Shavout (Pentecost) foretold the coming of the Holy Spirit 50 days later.

Seven Appointed Feasts
There are seven holidays that God instituted, which were intended to be times to meet with God. The LORD spoke to Moses saying, "Speak to the Israelites and say to them: These are my appointed feasts, the appointed feasts of the LORD, which you are to proclaim as sacred assemblies." (Leviticus 23:1,2) These seven holidays are:

1) Pesach - Passover
2) Hag HaMatzot - The Feast of Unleavend Bread
3) Yom HaBikkurim - The Feast of Firstfruits
4) Shavout - The Feast of Weeks (Pentecost)
5) Rosh HaShanah - The Feast of Trumpets
6) Yom Kippur - The Day of Atonement
7) Sukkot - The Feast of Tabernacles (Feast of Booths)

Three Pilgrimage Feasts
Three of the seven appointed feasts were pilgrimage feasts when all Jewish males were required to go to Jerusalem to "appear before the LORD." (Deuteronomy 16:16) Those three holidays are :

1) Hag HaMatzot - Feast of Unleavened Bread
2) Shavuot - The Feast of Weeks (Pentecost)
3) Sukkot - The Feast of Tabernacles (Feast of Booths)

Next Post: Understanding the Seven Feasts of the Lord

No comments: